Glenrowan Battery Ofsake Covers 102 MW Four


Victoria’s State Electricity Commission announced on November 2 that it has finalized a 10-year Glenrowan battery offtake covering a planned 102 MW, four-hour battery at the operating Glenrowan Solar Farm in north-east Victoria, replacing the state-owned company’s existing solar-only arrangement and giving the storage project contracted revenue support ahead of financing and construction.
The agreement covers the existing 102 MWac solar farm and the proposed battery. Independent reporting says SEC will have access to 65% of the battery’s output, but the project still must reach financial close before construction proceeds and the parties have not disclosed the contract price.
The official SEC announcement says the new 10-year agreement replaces SEC’s existing offtake for the solar farm. The change adds the planned battery to the commercial relationship rather than creating a second disclosed contract with a separate buyer.
SEC supplies renewable electricity backed by storage to more than 4,400 sites across Victoria, representing about 5% of the state’s electricity demand. The company says the battery would help it move solar energy from daytime production into higher-demand periods.
PV Magazine Australia independently reported that SEC secured access to 65% of the battery’s output and that Pacific Partnerships expects the project to operate from mid-2028. Those schedule and output-share figures should be treated as current plans, not completed milestones.
Victoria’s ministerial permits register shows that the state approved the Chivers Road battery on May 28, 2026. The permit covers a behind-the-meter battery within the Glenrowan Solar Farm boundary at 38 Glenrowan West Road.
Planning approval establishes that the project may be developed subject to its permit conditions. It does not prove that financing has closed, construction has started, equipment has been ordered or the battery has been commissioned.
SEC’s wording is explicit: the battery is expected to proceed to construction following financial close. No financial-close date, construction notice to proceed or binding commercial-operation date appears in the announcement.
The distinction matters in a storage market where projects can move through permitting, contracting, financing, construction and commissioning on different schedules. Microgrid Media’s coverage of Akaysha’s A$1.75 billion Australian battery financing shows the separate role that debt facilities play after a project has accumulated development and commercial commitments.
Pacific Partnerships says the existing Glenrowan Solar Farm has up to 130 MWdc of panel capacity and 102 MWac of grid-connected capacity. It has generated electricity since late 2023 and connects to the Glenrowan Terminal Substation.
The proposed battery would sit inside the solar farm boundary and use the site’s electrical infrastructure. Co-location can reduce the need to develop an entirely separate grid connection, but the final operating limits will depend on the approved design, connection agreement and dispatch rules.
A four-hour rating describes the planned discharge duration at the battery’s stated power level. It should not be presented as four hours of backup for all SEC customers or as a guarantee that the system will always begin an event fully charged.
Microgrid Media previously examined another Australian hybrid development when APA approved the Sybella Creek solar-and-battery project. Glenrowัน is different because the solar farm is already operating while the battery remains a planned retrofit awaiting financial close.
A long-term offtake can give lenders greater visibility into future project revenue. In this case, the state-owned buyer has committed to take contracted output for 10 years, creating a commercial foundation that Pacific Partnerships says will help advance the battery.
The announcement does not disclose the energy price, availability obligations, dispatch rights, performance guarantees, indexation, termination provisions or responsibility for market revenues. Those omissions prevent an independent assessment of the contract’s value.
SEC has also not disclosed an equity investment in the Glenrowan battery. The verified transaction is an offtake agreement, not a public ownership stake or a construction grant.
The next material development will be evidence that the project has secured financing and moved into construction. Later milestones should include equipment delivery, grid testing, commissioning and commercial operation.
Until those steps occur, the Glenrowon battery offtake should be described as a 10-year commercial agreement supporting a permitted 102 MW, four-hour project—not as proof that the battery is built or supplying Victoria’s grid.
Frequently asked questions
What specific change did the State Electricity Commission announce regarding the Glenrowan battery offtake agreement?
The SEC finalized a 10-year offtake covering a planned 102 MW, four-hour battery at the Glenrowan Solar Farm. This new agreement replaces the state-owned company’s existing solar-only arrangement and provides contracted revenue support for the storage project.
How much of the proposed Glenrowan battery output will the State Electricity Commission have access to under the new contract?
Independent reporting indicates that the SEC will have access to 65% of the battery’s output. The project still requires financial close before construction can proceed, and the parties have not disclosed the specific contract price.
What operational benefit does the new Glenrowan battery agreement provide for the State Electricity Commission's renewable energy supply?
The battery allows the SEC to move solar energy from daytime production into higher-demand periods. This supports the company's supply of renewable electricity backed by storage to more than 4,400 sites across Victoria.